Roll 36

Camera: Mamiya C330

Film: Ilford FP4 plus

Date Developed: 31.07.10

Development: T Max developer, 6 and a half minutes @ 22 degrees, fixed 8 mins.  Ilford washing protocol for spiral tanks.

Notes: The shop I buy film from didn’t have any TMax 100 in stock so I had to buy some FP4 instead.  It gave me endless trouble when trying to load it onto the developing reels – it seemed much softer and thinner than the tough, curly TMax and it was the tiniest bit warmer today so I had the usual “hot hands” trouble plus thin, floppy film.  It took 20 mins to get it loaded and even then I left a bit of a tail not wound on properly because I just couldn’t stand it anymore!!  : )  It was a film full of long exposures from Yamba. Because I hadn’t used this film before I wasn’t particularly attached to the results – and after the ridiculousness in loading it to be developed, I was especially not hopeful of getting anything I would like… but I have been pleasantly surprised by what I’ve ended up with.  I like the look of the images – although I had quite a lot of spotting to do to get rid of dust and scratches.  I’ve got one more roll of this film in my pinhole camera right now so I’ll be interested to see if I’m as happy with that one.

~ by suehimages on July 31, 2010.

4 Responses to “Roll 36”

  1. Hi Sue. Great stuff! I’ve used FP4 on occasion and never had problems loading them on a reel to develop. what type of reel do you use? I use a Hewes steel reel and it’s always easy to load no matter the film type. maybe it’s worth your while to get one if you don’t use a steel reel?

    • Thanks Kent – you’re very kind : )
      I use a Paterson tank with the plastic reels at the moment. I’m going to stick with it til the end of my year of developing and then if I’m going to keep going with it I think I’ll investigate some other reels because the current ones do drive me quite crazy – no matter what film I’m loading!

  2. Lovely series of water in motion, love those creamy whites against the dark rocks and water

Leave a Reply

 
