Roll 33

Camera: Holga 120N

Film: Tri-X 400

Date Developed: 09.07.10

Development: T Max developer, 6m 45s (extra time added to compensate for developer exhaustion) @ 21 degrees, fixed 8 mins.  Ilford protocol for spiral tanks used for washing, with additional sets of 20 inversions until pink dye was no longer visible in discarded water.

Notes: Holga did a funny thing (not unexpected when working with a dodgy plastic camera).  The foam that supports the film as it sits in the camera came adrift and stuck onto the film.  It was quite hilarious to watch it travel across the ruby window as I wound the film.  Consequently this film is speckled with little gritty foamy dots and has some quite spectacular light leaks where the foam was lodged in between the layers of the exposed roll.  I had to perform some camera surgery with a beautiful yellow kitchen sponge and some super glue to replace the foam…

~ by suehimages on July 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “Roll 33”

  1. I had the same problem with my Holga 120. I think it was caused by heat which released the adhesive backing on the foam. As a result all photos from that roll show little specks of foam. I didn’t realize the foam had come loose til I loaded the tank. I have since removed the foam completely and the camera works fine without it.

    I just recently switched over to Tmax developer after using D-76 for years. I like it’s tonal and contrast qualities. I noticed this in your work also, very nice shadow range and pleasing highlights.

    I’m also using the V-500 to scan negatives. I’ve read a lot about people who say to scan even B&W using the color scan option and converting later. And I see many who scan at high DPI, as much as 2400 dpi. The reason for this escapes me. I’ve been scanning at 16 bit B&W @ 300 dpi with what I consider good results. I don’t usually crop and from what I understand the human eye is only capable of discerning 300 dpi. I was wondering what your thoughts were on scanning methods.

    • Thanks for your interest Dean. It’s winter here so I don’t think it was the heat with mine. I did rip it all out and loaded a film without the foam but it wasn’t sitting flat enough to make me happy but my new foam is working very well. I had intended to try some different developers through the year but I’m really happy with the Tmax so I think I’ll stick with it. I’m no scanning expert – I do scan on B&W settings though. I’ve tried different sizes – I guess it depends on what you want to use the files for. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

 
