Roll 14

Camera: Zero Image 2000

Film: T Max 100

Date Developed: 28.02.10

Development: T Max developer, 6 and a half minutes @ 24 degrees, fixed 5 mins.  Ilford protocol for spiral tanks used for washing, with additional sets of 20 inversions until pink dye was no longer visible in discarded water.

Notes:  Really, I am surprised I’ve ended up with anything at all from this film.

1.  I took the pinhole to the art gallery with me, just for an adventure.  I took no other camera for metering so all the exposures were complete guesswork 1 or 2 seconds if it was sunny, maybe about 30 seconds – 2 minutes for the inside ones.  I did not write anything down.
2.  I’m not very good at using the pinhole without a tripod.  I wobble it when I’m opening the shutter/door.  I had tried to compensate for this with a bit of blu tack on the bottom of the camera – it sort of helped a bit, I think, but I’m still not very good at non tripod pictures with this particular camera.
3.  I had trouble loading the developing reels today.  It was quite humid and,while my tank was not wet, I don’t know that it was as dry as it could’ve been.  That meant that I had awful trouble with the little ball bearings in the reels sticking – grrrr!  Very frustrating!  The good thing is that now I know how to just be patient about it, rather than panicky, and go very very slowly.  Usually I find that tapping the reel onto the table (while inside the change bag) helps but today that didn’t really seem to work either.  SO, it took about 10 minutes to do the winding today instead of 1.  There are some marks along the edges of the film, but considering how sticky it was being I managed to avoid any large scale damage  – amazingly.
4.  After it finished being sticky and humid while I was trying to load the film, it turned very windy once I hung the film up to dry.  I live in a very old house with gaps between the floorboards and dirt underneath the house so a dust free drying environment is somewhat difficult to find.  Consequently this is the dustiest, dirtiest set of negatives I have produced yet.

Despite all of this, I quite like some of the pictures and I’ll definitely try another film or two at the art gallery another day….

Slight toning applied to pictures 3 and 4.

~ by suehimages on February 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Roll 14”

  1. Very nice work! Awesome shots.. All of them.

Leave a Reply

 
